Laingsburg band honors students

From left are Grace Buchholz, Laingsburg Director of Bands Thomas Cousineau and Caleb Fisher.

LAINGSBURG — Grace Buchholz and Caleb Fisher of Laingsburg are the 2019 recipients of the John Philip Sousa Award, according to LHS Director of Bands Thomas Cousineau.

“Both of these students are simply at the top of their game in so many ways. I’m excited to see where their future takes them,” said Cousineau, who has led the Wolfpack band program for almost 10 years and played a significant role in growing the Laingsburg band program exponentially.

Buchholz will attend Lansing Community College to become a certified nursing assistant. Fisher will attend Michigan State University to study microbiology. He’ll also try out for the Spartan marching band.

Several other students were also recognized with awards: Louis Armstrong, Chase Rodriguez; Semper Fi, Tyler Sieben and Jasmine Balcarcel; Director’s Award, Chris Walker; Leonard Bernstein, Jacob Dafoe; Marching, Shaylyn Olger and Ava Brewer; MSBOA Scholar Instrumentalist, Caleb Fisher; Service, Makayla Guenther and Seth Bader; and Spirit, Autumn Eyre and Anna Thelen.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.