LEAF welcomes new members to foundation board

Adrienne Yates

LAINGSBURG — The Laingsburg Educational Advancement Foundation recently elected new members and added new faces to its board of directors.

Founded in 1992, LEAF is a 501(c)3 organization that makes grants to Laingsburg Community Schools’ teachers and staff for items not covered in the school system’s general budget.

New board members are Micah Murrell, a financial adviser for Ameriprise Financial, and Adrienne Yates, an account executive and former teacher.

They join current officers President April Rowley; Vice President Emily Baynes; Treasurer Katie Burley; Secretary Lisa Shastal; and trustees Judy Blackledge, Brian Doepker, Patrick Dolan, Jeanne Klaver, Dane Nickols, Carrie Rathbun Hawks and Jen West.

Last year, LEAF granted more than $24,000 to Laingsburg Community Schools for a variety of projects, including but not limited to: high school robotics, Girls in STEAM, Annie’s Big Nature Lesson, Science Olympiad funding, career and tech skills, and Burg Broadcast funding. Funding is provided through LEAF’s annual Reverse Raffle fundraiser, memorials, individual donations, and investments and endowments.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.