Election 2020

SHIAWASSEE COUNTY — Area voters Tuesday selected candidates to advance to the November general election.

None of the candidates for countywide office faced challengers in the primary, meaning they are likely to be the general election winners, unless a major write-in candidate emerges.

Among the countywide races are partisan elections for prosecutor, register of deeds, road commissioner, sheriff, drain commissioner, treasurer, clerk and surveyor.

According to the Michigan election website, there are 53,837 registered voters in Shiawassee County; 16,502 cast ballots for a 30.65 percent turnout.

Here’s a look at Tuesday’s results.


Republican Scott Koerner and Democrat Robert Hinojosa both were unopposed in their respective primaries and will face off in the general election.

Koerner received 7,676 votes while Hinojosa received 5,712.

Koerner, 48, of Laingsburg, was appointed by 35th Circuit Court Judge Matthew Stewart to finish the term of former Prosecutor Deana Finnegan, who retired in March. He has been with the prosecutor’s office since May 2018.

Hinojosa, 47, currently pratices at his own firm in Flint, which specializes in criminal defense in Genesee and Shiawassee counties. He formerly worked in the Iron, Shiawassee and Lapeer county prosecutor’s offices.


Incumbent Republican Sheriff Brian BeGole was unopposed in the primary, as was Democrat Joe Ibarra.

BeGole was first elected in 2016, defeating Ibarra in the general election. In 2016, Ibarra lost to BeGole, 23,077 to 10,194.

In Tuesday’s primary, BeGole received 7,711 votes while Ibarra totaled 5,865.

BeGole, 50, of Perry, is married to Tammy, and is the son of former 66th District Court Judge George BeGole. He attended Central Michigan University, Lansing Community College, and the 47th Mid-Michigan Police Academy. He has almost 30 years of law enforcement experience.

Ibarra, 46, has been a reserve Owosso Police officer for more than nine years.

Ibarra has worked in the information technology field for 30 years, and owns Mid-Michigan Technology and Consulting LLC.


Republican Julie Sorenson, 60, of Rush Township, is the incumbent, and is seeking her first full term since being appointed treasurer in October 2019 to finish the term of former Treasurer Thomas Dwyer, who resigned.

She was the Rush Township treasurer from 2004 to 2017, when she was hired as Shiawassee County Chief deputy treasurer.

Yvette Pickler, 52, a Democrat from Caledonia Township, also ran unopposed in the primary, and will challenge Sorenson in the general election.

She holds a bachelor’s degree in computer science and an associate’s degree in accounting, and is a “proud auto worker.”

Pickler has been married for 32 years to husband Morris Pickler, and the couple have two sons, Josh and Zak.

Sorenson received 7,635 votes while Pickler totaled 5,592.

County Clerk

Republican Caroline Wilson ran unopposed the primary and will be unopposed in the general election for Shiawassee County clerk.

Wilson received 7,672 votes Tuesday.

Wilson defeated former Clerk Lori Braid in the 2016 primary election and was unopposed in the general election.

Before taking over as clerk, Wilson worked for 21 years with the Shiawassee County Friend of the Court, the last nine as office manager.

Wilson, 55, has been married to husband David for 27 years. The couple have two sons, Cameron and Avery.

Register of Deeds

Republican Lori Kimble ran unopposed in the primary and will be in the general election as she seeks her fifth term as the Shiawassee County Register of Deeds. She was first elected to the position in 2004.

She previously worked for the Shiawassee County Friend of the Court and the Circuit Court Clerk, with 36 years of experience.

She and her husband John live in Owosso and have two children, Karly and Branson.

Kimble received 7,683 votes.

Road Commissioner

John Michalec was unopposed in the primary election. He received 5,721 votes.

A Caledonia Township resident, he is a graduate of Owosso High School, spent three years in the U.S. Army 82nd Airborne Division in Fort Bragg, North Carolina, and also attended Baker College of Owosso.

Michalec worked more than 14 years at the Shiawassee County Road Commission in various positions, including laborer, highway (trunkline) maintenance worker, district truck driver and sign shop worker.


William Wascher, a Republican from Owosso, is the incumbent and was unopposed in both the primary and will be again in the general election.

He was elected in 2012 and won reelection in 2016 without opposition.

He received 7,083 votes.

Drain Commissioner

Democrat Tony Newman is running for this fourth term in office. He had no opponent in the primary or general election.

Newman received 5,691 votes.

Prior to serving as commissioner, Newman was a Hazelton Township trustee, and worked for the Shiawassee County Road Commission for 10 years.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.