HOWELL — Zach Limas shot a medalist round of 74 and Durand’s boys golf team edged New Lothrop for first place Wednesday at the Mid-Michigan Activities Conference Preseason Tournament at Hunter’s Ridge Golf Course.

Durand won by four strokes over the Hornets, 329-333.

“We are very excited to have placed first at this tournament,” Durand coach Dave Inman said. “The guys have been putting in a lot of extra evening and weekend time outside of our team practices. I’m happy they were successful in this first tournament.”

Inman said Limas, a senior, continued where he left off last spring.

“He was a first-team (Genesee Area Conference) golfer last season and has been so driven in the off season,” Inman said.

Justin Reddy shot even par on the front nine and finished one shot behind teammate Limas.

New Lothrop had the three lowest scores after the Durand duo — John Fras (77), Noah Ruddy (83) and Gabe Salsgiver (85). Jaden James of Chesaning was sixth with an 86.

Shooting 88 were Durand’s Jacob Johnson and New Lothrop’s Isaac Richardson. Durand’s final scorer was Elijah Beland (92) who tied for 11th.

Byron was led by Jacob Davies’ 94 which tied him for 13th individually. The Eagles were third in the team standings at 416. Mt. Morris was fourth at 419, followed by Chesaning (423), Montrose (435), Ovid-Elsie (478) and Otisville LakeVille (no official score).

Ovid-Elsie’s low round came from Adam Peckens, with a 107.

MMAC Preseason

at Hunters Ridge, Howell

Team Scores: 1. Durand 329. 2. New Lothrop 333. 3. Byron 416. 4. Mt. Morris 419. 5. Chesaning 423. 6. Montrose 435. 7. Ovid-Elsie 478. 8. LakeVille (no official score).

Medalist: Zach Limas, Durand, 74.

DURAND (329): 1. Limas 74. 2. Justin Reddy 75. T7. Jacob Johnson 88. T11. Elijah Beland 92.

NEW LOTHROP (333): 3. John Fras 77. 4. Noah Ruddy 83. 5. Gabe Salsgiver 85. T7. Isaac Richardson 88.

BYRON (416): T13. Jacob Davies 94. 16. Thad Coad 101. 21. Cameron Pehrson 110. 22. Jacob Miller 113.

CHESANING (423): 6. Jaden James 86. 19. Nathan Fowler 104. 25. Josh Wirt 116. 26. Andrew Sadilek 117.

OVID-ELSIE (478): 20. Adam Peckens 107. 27. Cooper Price-Nicholson 121. T32. TJ Hurst  123. 34. Noah Price-Jolly 127.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.